The Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize (BAAP) is an annual prize and exhibition that aims to increase opportunities for participation in Bayside’s arts and cultural program; foster a sense of identity, pride and place in Bayside through a community event; and enable the acquisition of suitable artworks for the Bayside City Council Art & Heritage Collection. BAAP will be judged by industry professionals who will award total prize monies and acquisitive funds of $19,000.

In 2016 the major prize of $15,000 will be awarded to a painting, in subsequent years the prize may be for works on paper, small sculpture or new media. There is also a Local Art Prize of $3,000 for an artwork or artist with a local connection and visitors to the exhibition can become involved by casting a vote in the $1,000 People’s Choice Award.


Terry Batt, Jon Cattapan & Lyndell Brown & Charles Green, Celeste Chandler, Isobel Clement, Samuel Rush Condon, Peter Daverington, Andrew Duong, Jaye Early, Robert Fenton, Jennifer Goodman, Helga Groves, James Guppy, Katherine Hattam, Grant Hill, Paul Jackson, Amanda Johnson, Jordan Marani, Karla Marchesi, Rob Mchaffie, Carlo Pagoda, Valentina Palonen, David Ralph, Steven Rendall, Jack Rowland, Brad Rusbridge, Josh Simpson, Camilla Tadich, Fatemeh Vafaeinejad, Michael Vale, Deborah Walker, Peter Wyndham Westwood and Alex Zubryn.

The 2016 judging panel consists of Guy Abrahams, CEO & Co-founder, CLIMARTE, Kirsty Grant, Director & CEO, Heide Museum of Modern Art and Julie Skate, Gallery Supervisor, The Gallery @ Bayside Arts & Cultural Centre.

Winners will be announced by the Mayor at an official award ceremony and exhibition opening of the finalists work held on Thursday 12 May 2016 between 6pm – 8pm at The Gallery @ BACC, corner of Wilson and Carpenter Streets Brighton, Victoria. The Bayside Acquisitive Art Prize finalists’ exhibition will be open to the public between 11am – 5pm Wednesday to Friday and 1 – 5 pm Saturday and Sunday from Saturday 7 May – Sunday 26 June 2016.